STOCKWISEPrepared for less.

Deals · Food stores

Food stores

Freeze-dried food that keeps for years, for a store you won't get round to rotating. Hand-picked buckets and bags with the sums done: how long each lasts your household, what a day costs, and the water it takes.

Picks
Five
From
£27.09 a day
Keeps
Up to 25 years
Prices checked
3 Nov 2026

Hand-picked, not scored: these stores publish no price feed, so we read each price off the store's own page and show the date beside it, and take it down once that check is 30 days old. The price at the checkout is the store's. Links to ReadyWise are Awin affiliate links: if you buy, Little Jam Jar Ltd may earn a commission, at no cost to you.

ReadyWise

ReadyWise sells freeze-dried emergency food in sealed pouches, packed in buckets and dry bags, with a stated shelf life of up to 25 years.

Grab-and-go dry bag, 28 servings (breakfast, lunch and dinner)

ReadyWise · Dry bag

Grab-and-go dry bag, 28 servings (breakfast, lunch and dinner)

£89.99price checked on 3 Nov 2026

Lasts one adult
2.7 days
Cost of a day
£32.84

For 14 days: 6 bags, £539.94, and about 42 litres of water to make it up.

28 servings · 5,480 kcal · shelf life up to 25 years, the store says

Seven recipes in a waterproof bag you can carry: the store sells it as three days for one person.

Lunch and dinner bucket, 60 servings

ReadyWise · Bucket

Lunch and dinner bucket, 60 servings

£169.99price checked on 3 Nov 2026

Lasts one adult
6.2 days
Cost of a day
£27.33

For 14 days: 3 buckets, £509.97, and about 45 litres of water to make it up.

60 servings · 12,440 kcal · shelf life up to 25 years, the store says

Thirteen main-meal recipes in sealed pouches of four servings.

Lunch and dinner bucket, 120 servings

ReadyWise · Bucket

Lunch and dinner bucket, 120 servings

£329.99price checked on 3 Nov 2026

Lasts one adult
12.2 days
Cost of a day
£27.09

For 14 days: 2 buckets, £659.98, and about 60 litres of water to make it up.

120 servings · 24,360 kcal · shelf life up to 25 years, the store says

The same thirteen recipes, twice the pouches.

Breakfast bucket, 120 servings

ReadyWise · Bucket

Breakfast bucket, 120 servings

£279.99price checked on 3 Nov 2026

Lasts one adult
13.7 days
Cost of a day
£20.44

For 14 days: 2 buckets, £559.98, and about 60 litres of water to make it up.

120 servings · 27,400 kcal · shelf life up to 25 years, the store says

Four breakfast recipes, granola among them.

Meat and rice bucket, 80 servings

ReadyWise · Bucket

Meat and rice bucket, 80 servings

£289.99 ReadyWise's stated previous price £329.99price checked on 3 Nov 2026

Calories
Not stated

Calories not stated, so Stockwise can't size it: an add-in for other meals.

80 servings · shelf life up to 15 years, the store says

Freeze-dried meat and rice to add to other meals. The page we read gave no calorie total.

Make it up: water and a flame

Freeze-dried food is eaten with boiling water, about a cup a serving. Count that water in your store, and cook outdoors.

Before you buy

  1. Count calories, not servings

    A serving in these buckets is about 200 kcal, a tenth of the 2,000 kcal an adult's food label assumes a day. A 120-serving bucket is about two weeks for one person, not 120 meals. Each product above shows how long it lasts and the cost of a day, worked out from the store's own calorie total.

  2. It needs water and a flame

    Freeze-dried food is eaten with boiling water, about a cup a serving by the store's own figures. That water comes out of your store, on top of the 3 litres a person a day GOV.UK suggests for drinking, and boiling it means a camping stove, used outdoors only.

  3. Three days first

    GOV.UK Be Ready asks for three days of food that needs no cooking. Tins and packets you already eat, rotated, cover that. A long-life bucket is for a store you will not get round to rotating.

  4. Shelf life is the maker's claim

    "Up to 25 years" assumes the bucket is kept cool, dry and sealed, as the maker directs. Log the date on the bucket in Stores and you get a reminder before it runs out.

  5. Check the recipes before you buy

    Allergens, meat or vegetarian, and what each pouch holds are on the store's product page. Stockwise lists no medicines and makes no health claims.

Days, cost of a day and the water are worked out by Stockwise from the store's own calorie total, servings and price, at 2,000 kcal a day (an adult's reference intake on UK food labels; the stores' own "days" figures assume less) and about 250 ml of water a serving. Stockwise gives information, not advice. For the basics, see Be ready.